Contributors

Dr. Lisa H. Anders is a political scientist at Leipzig University, Germany, at the Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy. She works as a postdoctoral researcher in the project "Rule of Law in East Central Europe". Her research focuses on European (dis-)integration, the politicisation of the EU, the Europeanisation of national election campaigns and illiberal trends in East Central Europe.

Dr hab. Adam Bodnar, is a lawyer specializing in constitutional law and human rights and Associate professor at SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities in Warsaw, where he is the Dean of the Law Faculty. From September 2015 to July 2021, he was the Ombudsman of the Republic of Poland.

Dr. iur. Joachim Herrmann is a Member of Cabinet of European Union Justice Commissioner Didier Reynders. His portfolio includes the rule of law, fundamental rights and citizenship, relations with Fundamental Rights Agency (FRA) and relations with the Council of Europe and other international organisations.

Bettina Limperg is President of the German Federal Court of Justice (since July 2014) and President of the Network of the Presidents of the Supreme Courts of the European Union (since April 2021). From 2011 to 2014, she was the Head of the Ministry of Justice of Baden-Wuerttemberg and Deputy Minister.

Prof. Dr. Astrid Lorenz is a political scientist and Professor of German and European Politics at Leipzig University, Germany. There she is the Director of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence on "The European Union and its Rural Periphery in East Central Europe" and the Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy.

Katja Meier is State Minister of Justice and for Democracy, Europe and Equality of the Free State of Saxony, Germany. From 2015 to 2020, she was a member of the Saxon state parliament which she left when she was appointed as minister. In parliament, she was the spokesperson of Bündnis 90/Greens for democracy, legal and equality policy and transport policy.

Dr. Jan Němec is a political scientist at Leipzig University, Germany, and a postdoctoral researcher in the project "Rule of Law in East Central Europe". He worked for the Parliament of the Czech Republic in its research service unit and has been an international election observer of the European Union and the OSCE/ODIHR, assessing the extent to which the elections meet international standards.

Prof. dr hab. Wojciech Piątek is Professor of Public Law at the University of Poznań, Poland. He currently leads a research project on Normative ways of building individuals' trust towards administrative courts funded by the Polish National Science Centre (2021-) and he is a national rapporteur for the project "Common core of European Administrative Law" (CoCeal) funded by European Research Council.

Didier Reynders is EU Commissioner for Justice (since 2019). In Belgium, he was Deputy Prime Minister (2014 to 2019) and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, and Defence (2018 to 2019), of Foreign and European Affairs (2014 to 2018), of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and European Affairs (2011 to 2014), of Finance (1999 to 2011), Minister in charge of the National Lottery, Federal Holding and Investment Company and insurance companies (2007 to 2011) and Minister of Institutional Reforms (2004 to 2011).

Prof. Dr. h. c. Klaus Rennert was the President of the Federal Administrative Court in Germany (2014 to 2021). In 2003, he was appointed as a judge at the Federal Administrative Court, of which he became Vice President in 2012. In 1994, he was appointed judge at the Administrative Court of Baden-Württemberg.

Dr. Werner Reutter has worked as a research fellow at the Social Science Research Centre Berlin, the Free University, and as an assistant professor at the Humboldt University Berlin. He was a visiting or associate professor in Berlin, Bonn, Potsdam, Lüneburg, Jena and Halle (Saale), and a visiting associate professor at the University of Minnesota (USA). Currently, he is a research fellow at the Humboldt University Berlin and works on subnational constitutional adjudication.

Prof. Dr. Anne Sanders, M. Jur. (Oxon) holds a Chair for civil law, company law, the law of family businesses and comparative judicial studies at the University of Bielefeld, Germany. Since 2021, she also is Professor II at the University of Bergen, Norway, and a Member of the Rule of Law Study Group. She repeatedly served as an expert for the Council of Europe.

Prof. JUDr. PhDr. Ivo Šlosarčík, Ph.D., LL.M. is a legal scholar and Professor of European Integration Studies at Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic, at the Faculty of Social Sciences. His research focuses on legal and institutional issues of European integration and the adaptation of the political, administrative and judicial structures of EU countries to EU membership. He was one of the founders of the EUROPEUM Institute for European Policy.

Prof. Dr. Mattias Wendel, Maîtr. en droit (Paris 1), is Professor of Public Law, EU and International Law, Migration Law and Comparative Law at Leipzig University. He received his doctorate as well as his habilitation at Humboldt-University Berlin and is author of several books, articles and contributions in the field of EU law, public law and comparative law. Mattias Wendel is a member of the editorial board of the European Constitutional Law Review and the Cahiers de droit européen.