Index of authors

Prof. Dr. Henk Botha, BLC LLB (Pretoria) LLM (Columbia) LLD (Pretoria), Professor of Constitutional Law at Stellenbosch University, former recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt award for postdoctoral research.

Prof. Richard Calland, Associate Professor of Public Law at University of Cape Town and Director of its Democratic Governance & Rights Unit (DGRU).

Prof. Dr. Christian Calliess, LL.M., Professor of Public and European Law at Freie Universität Berlin, ad personam Jean-Monnet-Chair for European Integration, Legal Adviser to the European Political Strategy Center (EPSC) advising the President of the European Commission, Member of the Advisory Council on the Environment of the Federal Government of Germany, part-time Judge at the Higher Administrative Court of the States of Berlin and Brandenburg.

Prof. Dr. Otto Depenheuer, Professor of General Political Science, Public Law and Philosophy of Law and Director of the Institute of Political Philosophy and Legal Policy at University of Cologne.

Prof Dr. Elke Gurlit, Professor of Constitutional, Administrative and Comparative Law, European Law at Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Member of the Advisory Board for Freedom of Information in the State of Rhineland-Palatinate, former Judge at the Constitutional Court of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen.

Prof. Dr. Peter M. Huber, Judge of the Federal Constitutional Court, Professor of Public Law and Political Philosophy at Ludwig-Maximilians Universität Munich and Director of the Research Centre for the Law of European Integration, former Minister of the Interior of the Free State of Thuringia.

Prof. Dr. Jonathan Klaaren, BA (Harvard) MA (UCT) JD (Columbia) LLB (Wits) PhD (Yale), Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law and former Dean at University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg.

Prof. Dr. Sophie-Charlotte Lenski, Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law, Media, Art and Cultural Law at University of Konstanz.

Dr. Barbara Loots, LLM LLD (Stellenbosch), Advocate of the High Court.

Dr. Petrus Maree, Post-Doctoral Fellow at University of Stellenbosch; Alumnus of the Overarching Strategic Plan (OSP) Project on Combating Poverty, Homelessness and Socio-Economic Vulnerability, Member of the Socio-Economic Rights and Administrative Justice Research Project.

Prof. Dr. Cosima Möller, Professor for Civil Law and Roman Law at Freie Universität Berlin, Dean of the Faculty of Law at Freie Universität Berlin from April 2013 until March 2015.

Fabian Reidinger, Deputy Director, State Council for Civil Society and Public Participation, State Ministry of Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart.

Prof. Dr. Wessel le Roux, BLC LLB LLD (UP), Professor of Public Law at University of the Western Cape, former Director of the VerLoren van Themaat Centre for Public Law Studies (University of South Africa), former recipient of the Georg Forster Research Fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

PD Dr. Jan Philipp Schaefer, Visiting Professor at the Chair of Public Law and Political Philosophy at Ludwig-Maximilians Universität Munich.

Prof. Dr. Nils Schaks, licencié en droit (Paris X-Nanterre), Associate Professor of Public Law at University of Mannheim, Senior Fellow at the Chair of Constitutional and Administrative Law, Commercial Administrative Law and Social Law (Prof. Dr. Helge Sodan) at Freie Universität Berlin from May 2011 until August 2015.

Shameela Seedat, former researcher for South Africa's Constitutional Court, former legal consultant for UNIFEM in New York and former policy analyst at the Institute for Democracy in South Africa.

Dr. Dominik Steiger, Senior Fellow at the Chair of Public and International Law (Prof. Dr. Heike Krieger) at Freie Universität Berlin, Emile Noël Fellow, New York University 2014-2015.

Prof. Dr. Christi van der Westhuizen, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Pretoria.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jan Ziekow, Professor of Public Law, especially Administrative Law at German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer, President of the German Section of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences, Director of the German Research Institute for Public Administration, Speyer, Member of the UN Committee of Experts on Public Administration.